The Ministry of Foreign Affairs considered it possible to introduce a visa-free regime with all of Latin America

It is possible to introduce a visa-free regime with all Latin American countries, says Alexander Shchetinin, director of the Latin American Department of the Russian Foreign Ministry.

“This is a task that we set for ourselves, and I think that we will achieve it,” said he, answering a question from TASS on the sidelines of the Russia-Latin America conference.

According to Shchetinin, Russia and the Caribbean countries will also move towards the abolition of visas.

Shchetinin spoke in June at the St. Petersburg International Economic Forum (SPIEF). Then the diplomat reportedthat the Russian Federation has a visa-free regime with 27 Latin American countries, negotiations are underway with six. The list of states with which Russia has not yet signed a visa-free regime includes the Bahamas, Haiti, Mexico, Barbados, Saint Lucia, and Trinidad and Tobago.

The international parliamentary conference “Russia – Latin America” takes place from September 29 to October 2 in Moscow. The participants plan to focus on expanding economic and humanitarian ties, as well as developing mutually beneficial partnerships between countries.

During the event, Russian President Vladimir Putin statedthat Russia and the states of Latin America have a lot in common in their views on international issues. In his opinion, Latin American countries are showing success in forming a multipolar system of international relations based on equality, justice, respect for international law and each other’s legitimate interests.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button