Republican Jordan again failed to become Speaker of the US House of Representatives

Jim Jordan, a parliamentarian from the Republican Party that controls the lower house, was unable to take the post of Speaker of the House of Representatives of the US Congress following the results of the second round of voting. transmits Reuters.

In total, Jordan received 199 votes with 217 needed, compared to 200 the day before during the first round of voting. 22 party members voted against him, and all 212 Democrats again voted for their leader Hakeem Jeffries.

As the agency notes, one of the proposals made by Republicans would expand the powers of interim Speaker Patrick McHenry, which would “buy more time for Jordan.” At the same time, the Democrats, whose support will apparently play a decisive role, Reuters points out, will not support Jordan. Their leader, Jeffries, called the Republican “the personification of Republican extremism and a danger to our democracy.”

Kevin McCarthy was removed from his post as Speaker of the US House of Representatives in a vote on October 3. The resolution was proposed by his fellow party member and representative of the right wing of the Republican Party, Matt Gaetz. 216 congressmen supported it, 210 opposed it. In addition to all 208 Democrats, eight Republicans voted for McCarthy’s resignation, including Gaetz himself. North Carolina legislator Patrick McHenry became speaker pro tempore.

On October 11, following a secret ballot, Steve Scalise won the nomination for Speaker of the House of Representatives, but on October 12 he refused to run. Jordan, who finished second in the vote, then announced his intention to run for office again.

Congressmen must nominate a speaker by Nov. 17, when approval of the federal budget for the new fiscal year is required. Otherwise, and in the absence of interim solutions, the US government will close completely or partially (depending on the distribution of funding), in other words, declare a “shutdown.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button